Little Miss Rachel

How Sugarland and “Little Miss” helped Rachel hang on and keep going. I don’t know about you guys but this song still touches me the same way it did the first time I heard it. It’s been such a blessing to get to help share your stories with the world. Thank you so, so much. You’ll never know how much it means to me. -Erica

Before I start, I want to say that I’ve been struggling with writing my Little Miss blog for awhile, not knowing what to say and how to say it, and how much to say. I’m still not sure this will come out right and it may end up a jumbled mess; but at this point, I’ve decided that I just want to put my thoughts out there, regardless of the result. Thanks Erica for the opportunity 🙂

“Little Miss I’ll get tough, don’t you worry about me anymore”. If there was ever a song lyric that described my life to a T (besides “You might win this round, but you can’t keep me down) – this is it. I was born with a health condition that has thrown a lot of ups and downs at me. The latest, due to a lifestyle change; has been quite a long haul – but thankfully, things seem to be (slowly) getting better. The first time I heard “Little Miss”, I wasn’t thinking of how I related to it. But overtime, I realized how much the song described me, afore mentioned lyric in particular. There have been days throughout this ordeal that have been very stressful, more emotionally than anything else. There have been times when I have wondered if things were ever going to get better because setbacks kept happening. One of the things other than my faith that has helped me through it all (and kept me sane; to be perfectly honest) has been Sugarland and their music. I know that no matter what I am going through; or what the situation is, at the end of the day, I can always count on Jennifer and Kristian to help me forget it all. I can put the music on and their voices calm me down instantly. I have never been in a situation where they have not been of some sort of therapy. There are days where I don’t know what I would do without them. I know that life will be different thanks to this issue, and I have had my days where I get down about things. But I also know that even though it will take time; “sometimes you gotta lose ’till you win”, “I’m ok”; and that “it’ll be alright again” 🙂 I’ve always known that, but somehow it took hearing “Little Miss” for me to really grasp it. And I needed to hear it. 🙂

One more thing – Jennifer and Kristian, I don’t know if you will get to/have a chance to read this, but I want to say something that I have wanted to say to you both for awhile now. THANK YOU for everything. Thank you for the music. Thank you for the memories of your live shows and the meet and greets. Thank you for giving me a million more reasons to laugh every single day. Thank you for always putting a smile on my face, no matter what. But most of all, thank you for being there for me, even if you don’t realize it. I cannot stress enough how much the two of you have changed my life. I want you to know that you are one of the biggest blessings in disguise to ever come into my life. I don’t know if I will ever get the chance to tell you this in person, so I am taking the chance to tell you now. You have a very special place in my heart that no one and nothing will ever be able to replace. Thank you for being you – I love ya! ~♥~

Leave a Reply

