Little Miss Bonnie

Bonnie writes about how Sugarland has saved her and her family… Her story really demonstrates that even though times can get tough, it’ll be alright again.

I’ve been wanting to submit my story since the LMP began. I finally had a change to sit down tonight and write a blog post.

Before I start into the LMP, I do want to mention how much Sugarland’s music has changed my life. In the fall of 2010, I fell into a grim depression. My only glimmer of hope and my shining light was Sugarland. Every single bad day, I listened to Sugarland. And they gave me hope that change was coming, that sometimes I had to lose till I won. And you know what?? They were right!! March of 2011 things in my life changed and I broke out of my spell of depression! I know I would not be where I am now without their inspiring songs!

I am Little Miss I’ll take less when I always give so much more. I put my whole heart and soul into my job and my family and I just felt I was getting nothing in return. I have a degree in Elementary Education and have been a substitute teacher since I graduated in December 2004. After almost 6 years I had enough of subbing. I was tired of being good enough to substitute, but not good enough to be hired full time. The problem I faced was I had so many teachers who loved having me in their classroom. I had teacher’s requesting me, but it still did not help in the employment department. As my husband and I struggled with my finical instability of not knowing if I was working every day and being unemployed during the summer (with no pay), I just slipped further into depression. My husband and I started growing apart and were on the verge of possible separation. We wanted to work it out though, especially for our 2 year old son. We just could not put him through a separation like that. I especially did not want that since my parents divorced when I was young, so I knew what it would be like for our son to go through a divorce. The one lyric in the song that I touched the most was “sometimes you gotta lose till you win.” Yes, these things were tough and I felt like I was losing all the time. I felt worthless. I felt like I couldn’t do anything right. It was a terrible place to be. However, I did eventually lose until I won!

Before the Incredible Machine was released, I listened to the song “Something More” very often. The lyrics became my anthem- “There’s gotta be more something more, gotta be more than this, I need a little less hard time, I need a little more bliss. Five years and there’s no doubt that I’m burned out, I’ve had enough.” Every single bad day, that was my anthem- there’s gotta be something more. Then Incredible Machine was released and “Stand Up” was an instant favorite. I absolutely love this song. This song was what pulled me through the worst of my depression. I wrote some of the lyrics on sticky notes and posted them on my computer desk. They are still there. Even though this song is a call to revolution of love, to me, it was my own revolution. After the new year rolled around, I chose “change is coming, can you feel it?” as my theme for this year. I just knew things had to somehow get better. I could not go on living in the thrashes of depression. The lyrics I have on my desk are:

There’s a comfort
There’s a healin’
High above the pain and sorrow
Change is comin’ can you feel it
Calling us into a new tomorrow
Won’t you stand up
When the walls fall all around you
When your hope has turned to dust
Let the sound of love surround you
Beat like a heart in each of us
Won’t you stand up

Then one day in February 2011, I read a post about an office position opening at a local plumbing business. I decided that I had to go for it. Even though it was only part time, it was steady work. I felt that if this was meant to be, it would happen. In March 2011, I was hired and I started working at the office. This was the change I was waiting for! From then on, things improved in my life- both at work and at home. I am forever grateful that Sugarland has touched my life in the way it did. As I said above, I know I would not be where I am today without Sugarland. Their lyrics have touched my life and carried me through the hard times.

I will be at the show in Scranton on June 18. I cannot wait to hear and see “Little Miss” and “Stand Up” performed live!!! I have a feeling I will be shedding a few tears during these songs that have touched my life! (P.S. exactly one week before the show- June 11- my husband and I will celebrate our 6th anniversary!!)

Leave a Reply

