Little Miss Molly

Molly opens up and shares her biggest secrets. She explains how “Little Miss” and the Project have helped her open up and talk about the things that have scarred her. I know Molly as a close friend and I can say that she is really taking the negatives and turning them into positives and becoming a stronger person because of it. You go, girl.

When I was really little, I was molested by my grandfather. I don’t even remember it actually happening, but I know for sure that it was him because I have had several very vivid dreams and I’ve always felt weird around him. He’s always treated me differently, more special, than my cousins. And he molested my aunts when they were growing up. When I was 6, I started having nightmares about it every night. This went on for about 2 years. When I was 21, I was raped, several times, by the dad of a family I was nannying for. I started to feel worthless. I felt like I was only born for men to take advantage of me. He made me feel horrible about myself. He manipulated me and made me feel horrible and like scum for not enjoying it. There was no way I could tell his wife. I couldn’t do this to their family. I couldn’t be responsible for tearing their family apart. He had already cheated on her once and she had a miscarriage when she found out. I held everything inside and became extremely depressed. She ended up firing me because I was so depressed and not in a place where I could properly take care of her children. They’re divorced now and she still doesn’t know what her ex-husband did to me. I told my brothers what had happened. They were angry and wanted to go to his house and beat him up. They tried to get me to press charges against him. I refused. I just couldn’t bare the thought of sitting in court and repeating the story over and over again. Plus, he’s a really good manipulator and I was afraid he would somehow twist it around and make it sound like I consented. I never told anyone other than my brothers. I just didn’t talk about it and kept that part of my life hidden. But “Little Miss” and the Little Miss Project has really helped me open up and start the healing process. I’ve started talking about it. It helps to know you’re not alone.

One thought on “Little Miss Molly

  1. Molly – First, you are so much stronger than you think you are and how brave to share these scars.
    Second, I totally agree with you. I first came to SugarLand because of the music, but I have stayed because of who Jennifer and Kristian are as people. I now have this wonderful “SuagrFamily” which is one of the greatest gifts that Jennifer and Kristian have given me and I hope you know that you are a special part of my family Little Miss.

Leave a Reply

