Little Miss Emily F.

My name is Emily Fowler and this is my Little Miss story. Thank you for creating this place to join our stories together.

Little Miss Do Your Best
Little Miss Never Rest

So much that needs to get done…Doctor’s appointments and my husband’s chemo, homework and a game with my son, work is calling, dinner on the table…

Little Miss Be My Guest
I’ll Make More Anytime That It Runs Out

…don’t want to leave anyone wanting- want to make sure the people I love are taken care of.

Little Miss You’ll Go Far
Little Miss Hide Your Scars

So many people helped me, gave me love and support to heal my old wounds- helped me move past growing up with a (then undiagnosed) bi-polar mother addicted to her pain medications. Now, it’s my turn to take care.

Little Miss Who You Are
Is So Much More Than You Like To Talk About

I don’t want my son to have the same scars I carry. He will have his own scars, though- only nine years old when his father was diagnosed with cancer. We haven’t told him it’s incurable, but he went to the memorial for his classmate’s father the year before, who was lost to cancer. He knows and that breaks my heart.

It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
Yeah, sometimes you gotta lose ’til you win

Sometimes it’s hard to see the light…

It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
And it’ll be alright again

…but I look at my son’s smile, see my husband and son playing together, feel the constant love and support of my friends and family, and I see a flicker, a glimmer.

It’ll be alright again, I’m okay
It’ll be alright again, I’m okay (Okay)
It’ll be alright again, I’m okay

We will all be okay. Maybe not in the way I want- a cure…but in our own way, in this moment.

Oh, Lord
Oh, and you are loved
Are loved

I do know that I am loved, and I love so much in return. That is how I get out of bed each morning and how I make it through the day.

Little Miss Brand New Start
Little Miss Do Your Part

I can not make my husband’s cancer go away, but I can live in this new reality and do my best to find the joy in every moment that we have…

Little Miss Big Ol’ Heart Beats Wide Open
She’s ready now for love

…to share the love in every day that we are lucky enough to share.

It’ll be alright again
I am lifted by the spirit of the music, the power of the song. Thank you, Sugarland.

Leave a Reply

