Little Miss Laura

This is a great blog and I don’t want to ruin it by saying anything because it’s a short one! It’s definitely worth the read! =)

Hi, I’m Laura.

This year, I lost my beautiful grandmother, my 16 year old cousin lost his battle with cancer, and my brother’s drug addictions landed him in jail, where he will stay for a while. And it’s only March. To me, they are my little misses and little misters. My granny and my cousin LIVED for other people, and my brother lost his way trying to impress his peers.

“Little Miss” reminds me that no matter how far you’ve fallen, no matter how tough life gets, hold on to hope… because it WILL “be alright again.” There is not a day that goes by, and there never will be, that I do not think about these people in my life. All of the good inside of me came from the wisdom and love my grandmother showed me. She taught me the most important thing in life: to love. She is the greatest person I will ever know and I miss her every single second of my life without her. My cousin taught me how fragile life is, but also how beautiful it is when you put your trust in God and become fearless because of it. That is what my cousin was: fearless. I do not know how he did it, but he is certainly my hero for it. He never gave up hope. I can never forget what my brother was like before he got caught up in all the bad, and I can already start to see the brother I grew up with coming back. I talk to him on the phone almost every day and I feel that this has brought us closer. It breaks my heart the damage he has done to my family, but most importantly, to himself. I know that he will come out of this a better and stronger person. He is a good example that “sometimes you’ve gotta lose til you win.” I miss him and hope he comes home soon.

So, THANK YOU, Sugarland. For the lyrics we all can relate to, for being our escape, for helping us see things we may have looked past before, for bringing us positivity, for never letting us down, and for letting us know that EACH and EVERY one of us is loved.

Leave a Reply

