Little Miss Julie

How “Little Miss” has been a very therapeutic song for Julie… I’m so happy the project has also helped, Julie! Thanks for being a part! =)

The song “Little Miss” has touched my heart since the first time I heard it.

I can totally relate to the lyrics…
Little Miss you’ll go far
Little Miss hide your scars
Little Miss who you are is so much more than you like to talk about

It’s alright, it’s alright, it’s alright
Yeah, sometimes you gotta lose ’til you win

Growing up, the youngest of three children, I was always told by my parents “you are the strong one, the independent one, you will go places.”

I did put my heart and soul into everything I did growing up, and continue to do the same today. However, growing up, I rarely heard the words “I am proud of you.” After many, many years of not feeling good enough, the scars got deeper.

A few years back, 10 years into my marriage and having two beautiful daughters, I was ready to run away from my marriage and family and had a breakdown. I was trying to live up to a standard that was unreachable. I was running myself ragged trying to fit the perfect image of a woman, wife, mother and daughter. I forgot who I was deep inside, and wanted to give it all up.

Through therapy, I have come to realize that I am okay, and I will be alright. I have also come to realize that I am married to the man I was meant to be married to. I am a great mom, a great wife, and a good woman.

Helping make the “Little Miss” project video was therapy for me. My 9 year old daughter videoed it for me, and when she asked what I meant by wanting my parents to acknowledge my accomplishments, I was able to tell her how proud I am to be her mom. I told her that because of her daddy, her sister and herself, I am alright, and I am okay, because they love me.

Thanks to Jennifer and Kristian for writing such a beautiful and freeing song that relates to SO many people!

A forever Sugarcube,
Julie Gottlieb
Syracuse, NY

Leave a Reply

